Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

Important Dates in 2017

Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

Date: December, TBC
Venue: TBC

Read more ...

Australian-International Model Solar Challenge

Date: 25th & 26th November
Venue: Hamilton College, SA

Read more ...


Go to sponsors page

2002 Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

The Tasmanian Model Solar Vehicle Challenge 2002 was held at Woodbridge District High School on Saturday October 65. In excellent conditions all the teams entered competed well. Teams came from as far a field as Launceston.

Last years winning school, Clarence High managed to retain the crown through champion Ewen Jeffery after a tense battle with the Queechy High team of Sam Lyne and Paris Lettau. Five teams with their cars were selected to represent Tasmania at the National Finals in Sydney in November.

In the College Challenge Rosny College won through Kent Jeffery closely followed by then Claremont College. We look forward to fierce competition in the future.

In conjunction with the Solar Car race was the Solar Boat Race, which was won by a Theo Wadsley for the second year. The Home Schooled student was closely pushed by teams from Woodbridge and Launceston Christian School.

Best Entry on the Day in the car challenge went to Launceston Christian School who received a trophy

Thanks to the sponsors Hydro Tasmania, The Premiers Department and The Institution of Engineers for supplying return airfares each to the finals, Pure Foods for the competition T-shirts and fine trophies and Sunsmart for providing a nice sunny day.

Graham Armstrong, John Jeffery, and Andrew Lyne will manage the Tasmanian team at the National Finals in Sydney in November.