Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

Important Dates in 2017

Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

Date: December, TBC
Venue: TBC

Read more ...

Australian-International Model Solar Challenge

Date: 25th & 26th November
Venue: Hamilton College, SA

Read more ...


Go to sponsors page

2004 Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

CSIRO Education again coordinated the Tasmanian Model Solar Car Challenge. This year’s event was sponsored by Institution of Engineers Australia (Tasmania), the Hydro Hands on Energy Discovery Centre, Sunsmart, Power West and Pure Foods.

The State Championship was conducted at New Town High School on Sunday October 17 in ideal conditions with the Queechy Team of Sam Lyne and Paris Lettau winning the cars with Sweetypie, Boom Boat from Rose Bay High winning the Secondary Boat, Freya Cox, Jamie Cox and Lochie Bannon winning the Primary Boat with Robert Johnson and Chris Fewkes from Rosny College winning the Open Boat.

The standard of the twelve cars was excellent with any of the top nine cars able to represent the State in Perth on Nov 30 and Dec 1.

Four teams were selected to represent Tasmania in Perth on Nov 29 – Dec 1at the National Challenge in WA.