Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

Important Dates in 2017

Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

Date: December, TBC
Venue: TBC

Read more ...

Australian-International Model Solar Challenge

Date: 25th & 26th November
Venue: Hamilton College, SA

Read more ...


Go to sponsors page

2006 Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

The Tasmanian Championships of the Australian International Model Solar Vehicle Challenge 2006 were held at Newtown High School on Sunday October 15, 2005. In a typical rainy day with intermittent sunny patches all 17 car teams and 11 boat teams competed well in their round robin elimination rounds. Teams came from as far a field as Launceston.

In conjunction with the Solar Car Race was the Secondary Solar Boat Race, which was won by a Chris Iseli of Taroona High. The Primary Division was won by Joshua Creese of Mt Nelson Primary.

Last years winning car team and reigning National Champions of 2006 Hobart College of Marc Iseli Stefan Matusek and Jason Watts could only manage a fourth place this year but will be in Sydney to defend their National Championship. Five teams with their cars were selected to represent Tasmania at the National Finals in Sydney in November.

The car finals were a close affair with six cars vying for selection.. In a close final the Rose Bay High team of Matthew Todd, Brad Mason, Keeanu Ford and Tim Nissink defeated the Taroona High Team of Chris Iseli using a car developed with his brothers Hobart College Team.

Third place was the ever reliable Queechy team followed by the Hobart College team and fifth a team from Rose Bay High. Best time of the day went to the Hobart College team with a time of 17.03 seconds for the 102 metre track, a new state record!

Thanks to the sponsors Hydro Hand on Energy Centre and Engineers Australia Tasmania Division for supplying funding for airfares for teams to the finals.

John Jeffery will manage the Tasmanian team at the National Finals in Sydney in November. We look forward to working work our National Sponsor Jaycar.