Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

Important Dates in 2017

Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

Date: December, TBC
Venue: TBC

Read more ...

Australian-International Model Solar Challenge

Date: 25th & 26th November
Venue: Hamilton College, SA

Read more ...


Go to sponsors page

2007 Tasmanian Model Solar Challenge

The Tasmanian Championships of the Australian International Model Solar Vehicle Challenge 2007 were held at Newtown High School on Sunday October 7, 2007. In a typical rainy day with intermittent sunny patches all 12 car teams and 7 boat teams competed well in their round robin elimination rounds. Teams came from as far a field as Launceston.

In conjunction with the Solar Car Race was the Secondary Solar Boat Race, which was won by a Luke Coulson and Jacob Walker of Rose Bay High. The Primary Division was won for the second year by Joshua Creese of Mt Nelson Primary.

Last years back to back National Champions from Hobart College of Marc Iseli and Stefan Matusek were valued spectators this year as they now studying Engineering at University of Tasmania. Four teams with their cars were selected to represent Tasmania at the National Finals in Adelaide in November.

The car finals were a close affair with six cars vying for selection. In a close final the Queechy High team of Ryan Judge, Denis Wall and Shylock Mountney defeated the Rose Bay High Team of Andrew Butler, Dane Plaister and Lewis van Bommell.

Third place was the ever reliable Rose Bay team of Tim Nissink and Edward Stanley followed by a team from New Town High of Alex Salter Luke Johnston and Jake Meyers. Best time of the day went to the Queechy Team with a time of 18.14 seconds for the 102 metre track.

Thanks to the major sponsors Hydro Hand on Energy Centre and Engineers Australia Tasmania Division, and David Bartlett for supplying funding for airfares for teams to the finals.

John Jeffery will manage the Tasmanian team at the National Finals in Adelaide in November.